Travel Towel Reviews – Best Travel Towel – Which To Buy?

Travel Towels are among the most bulky items to pack when traveling around the world, they take up too much space and take forever to dry. So ever since I bought my first travel towel it’s been much easier. So what is the Best Travel Towel?

The major difference you will find from a normal towel is that they pack down so small, take up much less space in your backpack, and since I most often don’t stay at one place for more than a few days I need my towels to be dry when I pack them down – travel towels are very quick drying.

However, not all travel towels are the same – today I will go through 3 which I have tested.

Travel Towel Reviews – Best Travel Towel

Aquis Travel Towel

Aquis Travel Towelcan absorb A LOT of water, although if drenched in water it can take some time for it to dry.

It’s also lightweight and has a little  snap loop to hang it up (perfect so it doesn’t blow away in the wind).

It is the towel that feels closest to a real towel, and unlike many other towels you can actually dry it in the drying machine – if you would ever need to.

Be careful though, as it can bleed in the first few washes!

The sizes come in: M (15″ x 29″), L (19″ x 39″) and XL (29″ x 55″), and you can choose between 3 colors.

The XL size would be more like a bath towel and you can wrap yourself up in it, the L size is narrower but long (perfect for using at the gym), and the M is more like a hand towel.

Sea To Summit DryLite Towel

I’ve always had a good experience with Sea To Summit DryLite Towel brand, and the towel didn’t disappoint me.

This towel stands out from the rest because it’s so soft on the skin, softer than the other ones.

It’s light weight, absorbs a lot of water and dries quickly.

Another good thing about these towels is that there are so many different sizes to choose between, so you can get the one which suits your needs the best.

Sizes come in XS (12” x 24”), S (16” x 32″), M (20” x 40”), L (24” x 48), XL (30” x 60”) – and you can choose between 5 colors.

The fabric is slick, not fluffy (terry), and the best way to dry it to simply pat on the skin.

Things To Remember – When Buying Travel Towels.

  • Travel towels are generally small in their sizes, so you most often have to go up a size larger than normally to get the size you want. XL really isn’t a plus sized beach towel, but a smaller one that just wraps around your body.
  • Nearly all travel towels are made in some type of micro fiber material, and that tends to stick to the skin. This problem is hard to avoid.
  • They starts smelling easier than normal towels, so make sure to clean them every so often. If you pack the towel down when it’s wet, it may get mouldy or gross – like any other towel would.

Do you use travel towels? If so, what do you think of them, and do you have a favorite?

There are many many more options for Travel Towels HERE

17 Responses to Travel Towel Reviews – Best Travel Towel – Which To Buy?

  1. Nancie (Ladyexpat) November 9, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    I usually carry a small travel towel, but not really a big fan of them. Since I am usually traveling in hotter countries I find that a sarong is a nice towel option.

    • Sofia November 9, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

      Hi Nancie! Yeah sarongs are always a nice option, I bring both when I travel ;)

      • Vagabondette_h November 10, 2010 at 9:59 am #

        This is a brilliant idea, I’d never even thought to do this. Thanks girls :-)

  2. Norm November 9, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I have used each one of those towels in the review and think they are all great products. The Sea to Summit is nice!

    Been using this really ugly Blue California Microfiber Plush Towel size 24″ X 16″ from Wally World for $9.98 this summer while Bikepacking with no complaints…
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/The-Original-California-Microfiber-Plush-Towel/14294919

    Also This one from Cabela’s worked very well…

    I would also be interested in trying one of those MicroFiber dog towels like this one when my others get Borrowed or wear out…
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/ASPCA-Microfiber-Towel-24-x-48-Gray/14977361

  3. Alexis November 9, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    Thanks for writing an article on this! Carrying around wet/stinky towels in your backpack can be a real pain

    • Sofia November 9, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      Hi Alexis! Yeah stinky wet towels are the worst! Travel towels are odor resistant which helps a little, but all towels that are packed down when they’re still wet will soon start to smell.

  4. Byya @Traveller's Anatomy November 9, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Great share Sofia. U read my mind as I was about to ask abt these travel towel when I see what u packed. Yeah, normal towel usually bulky enough and takes up lot of space. I would consider buying one for sure!

  5. Ayngelina November 9, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    I actually travel with a towel from hot yoga, nicer feel but dries just as quickly.

    • Sofia November 10, 2010 at 7:25 am #

      I didn’t know about those towels until now, thanks for sharing! They seem really good, maybe I should try one of those too ;)

  6. Jaime November 10, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    Hmm this is very good information as I will be buying one soon.
    Thanks for the info~

    • VagabondDave November 10, 2010 at 7:58 am #

      Same here. I think I’m going to get the largest Sea to Summit DryLite towel. I’ve read pretty much nothing but good things about them and I want a big one so that I can use it on the beach too.

  7. Anonymous November 10, 2010 at 3:53 am #

    We both have travel towels but in Vietnam we haven’t needed them as we have always stayed somewhere where they give us towels. I will always prefer a normal towel but travel towels are just soooo much lighter…

    • Sofia November 10, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Yeah, it’s quite amazing how small they pack down! A normal towel would take up all the space in my backpack, and like you say, they weigh so much more than travel towels..

  8. Vagabondette_h November 10, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Nice article guys, not something everyone thinks to cover.
    I find the microfibre towels are nicer on the skin and tend not to get as smelly as the ones that feel like chamois.
    Chucking a fabric softener sheet in with my towel when I pack it up helps to stop it getting stinky (and stop the smell leaking through the bag!) but it’s not very environmentally friendly.
    I’ve found that line drying it as much as possible is best, I also chuck some vinegar in the rinse cycle when washing them, it seems to remove any odour. :-)

    • Sofia November 10, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

      Thanks for sharing all your useful tips, the vinegar and softener sheet was something new to me!

  9. enrolled agent cpe November 14, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    My birthday is coming up in a few days and a friend of mine sent me the Aquis Travel towel. This is my first time to actually have a travel towel so I’m quite excited to try it out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Travel Towel Reviews – Which To Buy? – As We Travel – Around The World Travel Blog -- Topsy.com - November 9, 2010

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by As We Travel, RTW Travel Guide. RTW Travel Guide said: Travel Towel Reviews – Which To Buy? http://su.pr/2SaCfZ #lp #rtwsoon #rtw #travel [...]